Skip Navigation

Parent Advisory Committee (PAC)


Dickinson ISD is committed to gathering parent and community input into the educational process. The Special Programs Department created the Special Programs Parent Advisory Committee in 2014. This committee was created with the primary focus of providing feedback to the Executive Director of Special Programs and the Special Programs team leaders regarding programming for Special Programs (special education, nursing services, dyslexia, Section 504, social work, assessment, speech therapy, OT/PT). (Please note, individual student goals are a topic that is best handled at the campus level with relevant staff; this meeting is not a forum for individual student concerns.) 


The PAC meets 3 times per year and the Parent Coordinator and Co-chair for the group will be determined at the first meeting.


The group size is limited to 15 participants who serve a 2 year term (renewable) and efforts will be made to select a cross section of special programs areas and all DISD campuses.  Two parent representatives may also be employees of the district.  If you are interested in serving on this committee, please complete this short interest form by clicking HERE.  As openings occur, a member of the committee will contact you for a short interview.


Current Members | Campus / representation:

  1. Kate Sanger | Dickinson High School 18+
  2. Maria Irogoyen | Calder Road & Dickinson High School  (employee)
  3. Dwella Wheelock | Dickinson High School
  4. open: elementary
  5. Tiffany Biggers | Silbernagel Elementary
  6. Dr. Tiffany Unruh |McAdams Junior High
  7. Jennifer Anderson |Dickinson High School
  8. Stacy Henderson |Dickinson High School
  9. Vickie Govreau | Private / Home School
  10. Michael Wallach | 504 | Lobit Middle
  11. Lubia Aguirre |Dyslexia | San Leon Elementary
  12. Becca Goins | 504 | Kranz Junior High
  13. Missy Jimenez | Lobit Elementary
  14. open:  middle school
  15. Catalina Alanis | 504 | Dunbar Middle School

District representation:

  1. Laurie G. Rodriguez, Executive Director of Special Programs
  2. Maggie Burk, Coordinator of Evaluation & Related Services
  3. Kimberly Davidson, Coordinator of Special Programs Instruction & Curriculum
  4. Laura Batson, Coordinator of Special Programs Compliance
  5. Amy Cmaidalka, District SEL Specialist
  6. Mike Herdman, SpEd Curriculum Specialist, LID, transition & 18+
  7. Karen Hollen,SpEd Curriculum Specialist, In-class support + Dyslexia
  8. Erica Hollister, RN, Lead Nurse
  9. Cephus Scott, District Behavior Specialist

Committee Goals: 

  1. Serve on the committee according to your identified perspective
  2. Participate respectfully in the discussion and provide advisory feedback
  3. Serve on subcommittees for identified topics and provide a written report to the PAC
  4. Serve as an ambassador for Special Programs to the community and in online forums
  5. Serve as a mentor for other parents

Meeting Dates for 2022-2023

1. October 3, 2022

2. January 17, 2023 (Tuesday)

3. April 17, 2023

All meetings are held at the

Educational Service Center (ESC)

2218 E FM 517     Dickinson, TX

from 5:15 - 7:00 PM

Room 230 - Upstairs


Meeting Guidelines & Norms:

  1. Follow the agenda topics as presented (committee members can submit topics to the Co-chairs up to a week in advance of the meeting)
  2.  Co-Chairs:
    1.  Instruction:  Kim Davidson
    2.  Compliance:  Laura Batson
    3.  Evaluation & Related Services: Maggie Burk
    4.  Department oversight:  Laurie Rodriguez
  3. Follow the 10 Ground Rules for Meetings

Agendas / notes for 2022-2023

1. October 3, 2022

2. January 17, 2023 (Tuesday)

3. April 17, 2023

Agendas / notes for 2021-2022

1. November 15, 2021 Agenda

2. February 21, 2022 Agenda

3.  May 9, 2022 Agenda

Agendas / notes from 2019-2020

1.  October 21, 2019 Agenda

2.  December 9, 2019 Agenda

3.  February Agenda

Press ENTER key to focus on the active panel

Copyright © 2021 - Dickinson Independent School District

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM